Section - 3 - Establishment of Board

    (1) For the purposes of this Act there is hereby established a Board to be known as the Private Hospitals and Maternity Homes Board, which shall be a body corporate and have a common seal.

    (2) The Board shall consist of, -

    (a) The Chief Medical Officer who shall be the Chairman;

    (b) The Deputy Chief Medical Officer;

    (c) The Principal Matron;

    (d) Three medical practitioners appointed by the Minister;

    (e) One midwife not in the service of the Government appointed by the Minister;

    (f) One nurse not in the service of the Government appointed by the Minister;

    (g) One registered pharmacist appointed by the Minister.

    (3) The members of the Board other than the official members shall be appointed for a term expiring on the thirty-first day of December of the year of appointment but may on the expiry of any term of appointment be re-appointed. Any appointed member of the Board may at any time and for any cause be removed from office by the Minister notwithstanding that his term of office has not expired.

    (4) Where an appointed member resigns, dies, is removed from office or is for any reason unable to continue to act as a member of the Board, the Minister may appoint a fit person to hold office for the unexpired portion of the term of office of that member, or as he thinks fit, as a temporary member of the Board.

    (5) In the absence of the Chairman the Deputy Chief Medical Officer shall have all the powers of the Chairman.

    (6) The powers of the Board shall not be affected by any vacancy in its membership.